Advisory Boards

Alumni Advisory Board

The Alumni Advisory Board meets once per academic year and at the discretion of the CTE Director and Chairperson.

Nancy Rapoport - Chairperson

Ms. Rapoport is a UNLV Distinguished Professor, the Garman Turner Gordon Professor of Law at the William S. Boyd School of Law, UNLV, and an Affiliate Professor of Business Law & Ethics at the Lee Business School, UNLV. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Legal Studies from Rice in 1982. She also received a J.D. from Stanford University in 1985.

Keith Lovin, Ph.D.

Dr. Lovin served as the President of Maryville University of Saint Louis from 1992 to 2005. Among his accomplishments as president, Lovin created The Institute for Leadership and Values, a leadership development program to help students gain skills and experiences necessary for their future careers. He earned his Master of Arts and Ph.D. in Philosophy from Rice in 1971. During his time at Rice, he has served in various volunteer roles, including as a RAVA volunteer and on the Initiative for Students Commission.

Steve Knoll

Mr. Knoll worked at the University of Texas Center for Teaching Effectiveness for ten years, supporting faculty and graduate student teaching/learning initiatives. He graduated with Bachelor of Science degrees in Electrical Engineering and in Computer Science from Rice in 1985, after which he continued studies at UT-Austin in physics, math, and linguistics.

Deborah Kochevar

Deborah Turner Kochevar is Dean Emerita, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, and Senior Fellow, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, both at Tufts University, where she also served as provost ad interim. Dr. Kochevar taught for over 20 years at Texas A&M University and was active in veterinary medical curriculum development and promotion of teaching excellence. Dr. Kochevar earned her undergraduate degree from Rice University in English and Biology (1978), Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from Texas A&M University (1981), a Ph.D. from the University of Texas Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (1987) and a Master degree in Global Business Administration from the Fletcher School (2021).

Felicia Martin

Ms. Martin is the Managing Director of College Success at EMERGE, which empowers and prepares high-performing students from underserved communities to attend and graduate from selective colleges & universities across the nation. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Rice in 1999. She also received a Master of Arts in Organizational Development from St. Edwards University in 2013.

Juan Meza, Ph.D.

Dr Meza is currently serving as the Division Director at the National Science Foundation’s Division of Mathematical Sciences. He received a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering in 1978, a Master of Electrical Engineering in 1979, and a Doctorate in Computational and Applied Mathematics in 1986, all from Rice University.

Meeta Morrison

Bio Coming Soon

Stephen Peterson

Mr. Peterson is the President and Principle of ThreeForks, Inc. a post-secondary education information technology consulting firm dedicated to the needs of higher education administration. Stephen graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History and a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Art & Art History from Rice in 1984 and 1985.

David Potash, Ph.D.

Dr. Potash is the President of Wilbur Wright College in northwest Chicago. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and English from Rice in 1985. He also earned a Master of Arts in History from New York University in 1988 and a Doctorate in History from Cambridge University in 1998.

Elizabeth Rose

Elizabeth made an unexpected mid-career shift into education, spending a decade in the New York City Department of Education, and capping off that experience as the Deputy Chancellor for Operations. She currently serves as Chief Financial Officer for a youth development organization helping low-income students develop their path towards college and career, and is also a Member of Achievement First Network Support Board, a charter school network operating K-12 schools in New York, Connecticut and Rhode Island. Elizabeth graduated from Rice in 1985 with a Bachelor of Arts in History, and received a Master of Business Administration from Columbia University Graduate School of Business in 1992. Elizabeth also serves Rice as a RAVA volunteer.

Lesa Tran Lu, Ph.D.

Dr. Tran Lu is a Lecturer of Chemistry at Rice University, the Program Manager of the Rice Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering, and a Faculty Resident Associate of Sid Richardson College. She received a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry in 2007, a Master of Arts in Chemistry in 2009, and a Doctorate in Chemistry in 2012, all from Rice University.

Former External Advisory Board Members

Tess Carrithers
Ian Cooper
Kris Gamache
Ana Miljački, Ph.D.
Claire Shorall
Troy Williams

Graduate Advisory Board Members

School of Humanities

Art History
Allison Springer

Chaney Hill

Kimberly Jones

Wan Zhang

Mai Lootah


George R. Brown School of Engineering

Applied Physics
Andrew Torma

Ruchika Mitbander

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Aldo Spatafora Salazar

Civil and Environmental Engineering
Raúl Rincón

Computational Applied Mathematics & Operations Research

Computer Science

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Priyan Pathirana

Materials Science and NanoEngineering
Sathvik Ajay

Mechanical Engineering
Joshua Fleck

John Zito

Wiess School of Natural Sciences

Marina Hutchins

Cecilia Martínez Jiménez

Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
Sydney Allen

Ethan Gwaltney

Kelly Neubauer

Systems, Synthetic, and Physical Biology
Matthew Dysart


School of Social Sciences

Keren Reichler

Yelda Gungor

Political Sciences
Emily Elia

Psychological Sciences
Rachel Zahn

Bianca Mabute-Louie


GSA Liaison

Sathvik Ajay


Jones Graduate School of Business

Geoffrey Pears


Shepherd School of Music

Chelsea de Souza