In addition to the leadership provided by our staff and Faculty Fellows, the CTE depends upon the support of the wider Rice community. This support is felt most directly through the work of three campus-wide advisory boards.


The External Advisory Board meets once per academic year and at the discretion of the CTE Director and CTE Faculty Chair.

Keith Lovin, Ph.D. – Chairman

Dr. Lovin served as the President of Maryville University of Saint Louis from 1992 to 2005. He earned his Master of Arts and Ph.D. in Philosophy from Rice in 1971. 

Tess Carrithers

Ms. Carrithers is the Director of Business Analysis & Adoption at YES Prep Public Schools. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Linguistics and Religious Studies from Rice in 2009. 

Ian Cooper

Mr. Cooper is a founding shareholder of Tueth Keeney Cooper Mohan & Jackstadt, P.C., specializing in representing public and private colleges, universities, and community colleges. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History and Political Science from Rice in 1981 and received a law degree from Washington University in 1984.

Kris Gamache

Mr. Gamache is a Senior Managing Director of IT Business Analysis at Teach for America. Kris graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in English from Rice in 1995.

Steve Knoll 

Mr. Knoll worked at the University of Texas Center for Teaching Effectiveness for ten years, supporting faculty and graduate student teaching/learning initiatives. He graduated with Bachelor of Science degrees in Electrical Engineering and in Computer Science from Rice in 1985, after which he continued studies at UT-Austin in physics, math, and linguistics. 

Felicia Martin 

Ms. Martin is the Managing Director of College Success at EMERGE, which empowers and prepares high-performing students from underserved communities to attend and graduate from selective colleges & universities across the nation. Shegraduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Rice in 1999.  She also received a Master of Arts in Organizational Development from St. Edwards University in 2013. 

Juan Meza, Ph.D. 

Dr Meza is currently serving as the Division Director at the National Science Foundation’s Division of Mathematical Sciences. He received a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering in 1978, a Master of Electrical Engineering in 1979, and a Doctorate in Computational and Applied Mathematics in 1986, all from Rice University. 

Ana Miljački, Ph.D. 

Dr. Miljački is a critic, curator and Associate Professor of Architecture at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she teaches history, theory and design. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Architecture from Bennington College in 1995, a Master of Architecture from Rice in 1999, and a Doctorate in History and Theory of Architecture from Harvard University in 2007. 

Stephen Peterson 

Mr. Peterson is the President and Principle of ThreeForks, Inc. a post-secondary education information technology consulting firm dedicated to the needs of higher education administration. Stephen graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History and a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Art & Art History from Rice in 1984 and 1985.

David Potash, Ph.D. 

Dr. Potash is the President of Wilbur Wright College in northwest Chicago. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and English from Rice in 1985. He also earned a Master of Arts in History from New York University in 1988 and a Doctorate in History from Cambridge University in 1998.

Nancy Rapoport

Ms. Rapoport is the Garman Turner Gordon Professor of Law at the William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and an Affiliate Professor of Business Law and Ethics in the Lee Business School at UNLV. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Legal Studies from Rice in 1982. She also received a J.D. from Stanford University in 1985. 

Claire Shorall 

Ms. Shorall is a Principal at Neo which identifies awesome young engineers, includes them in a community of tech veterans, and invests in companies they start or join.  Claire graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies and a Bachelor of Arts in Biosciences from Rice in 2010 and she competed for the Owls in Cross Country and Track & Field. 

Lesa Tran Lu, Ph.D. 

Dr. Tran Lu is a Lecturer of Chemistry at Rice University, the Program Manager of the Rice Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering, and a Faculty Resident Associate of Sid Richardson College. She received a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry in 2007, a Master of Arts in Chemistry in 2009, and a Doctorate in Chemistry in 2012, all from Rice University. 

Troy Williams 

Mr. Williams is a Managing Director of University Ventures. Troy received a Bachelor of Arts in History from Rice in 1995 and a law degree from the Harvard Law School in 1998. 


We have also organized an advisory board for graduate students that includes a liaison from every department on campus with a PhD program. This group advises the CTE about the unique needs of of graduate students, and serves as a group of ambassadors for the CTE when we promote programming that is tailored to meet those needs.

School of Humanities

Art History
Aja Martin

Mallory Pladus


Wan Zhang

Timothy Grieve-Carlson


Wiess School of Natural Sciences

Kathryn Smith

Thasneem Banu Frousnoon

Earth Science
Alana Semple

Ethan Gwaltney

Shah Saad Alam

Systems, Synthetic, and Physical Biology
Emily Fulk


School of Social Sciences

Jessica Bray


Political Sciences
Jared Oestman

Jackie Gilberto

Sharan Mehta

GSA Liaison

Thasneem Banu Frousnoon

School of Architecture



Jones Graduate School of Business

Geoffrey Pears


George R. Brown School of Engineering

Applied Physics
Melia Bonomo

Letitia Chim

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Santiago Martinez Legaspi

Civil and Environmental Engineering
John Pederson

Computational and Applied Mathematics
Jonas Actor 

Computer Science
Rebecca Smith

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Joe Young 

Materials Science and NanoEngineering
Lucas Sassi

Mechanical Engineering
Janelle Clark

Carly Fagnant


Shepherd School of Music

Michael Clark


Last, but not least, we have organized an advisory board of undergraduate students. Like the graduate/postdoc board, this group advises the CTE about the unique needs of of undergraduate students, and serves as a group of ambassadors for the CTE when we promote programming that is tailored to meet those needs.

Leslie Arrazolo (SA Representative)

Class of 2022
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering




Evelyne Tantry (SA Representative)

Class of 2021
Neuroscience, Cognitive Science