Posts tagged #General Science

National Science Teachers Association Awards

The annual NSTA Awards and Recognition Program recognizes exceptional and innovative science educators created in 1973. The NSTA Awards and Recognition were created to raise awareness and exposure of the outstanding work being done in the science education field.

Vernier Technology Awards

The Vernier Technology Awards will recognize and reward the innovative use of data collection technology using a computer, graphing calculator, or other handheld in the science classroom. A total of seven awards are presented: one award at the elementary level (grades K–5); two awards at the middle level (grades 6–8); three awards at the high school level (grades 9–12); one award at the college level.

Eligibility: K–college. Applicants may not have won previously at their school.
Award: Each award will consist of $1,500 towards expenses to attend the NSTA National Conference, $1,000 in cash for the teacher, and $3,000 in Vernier products.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

This award honors NSTA members who are teachers that have made extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching. Must have at least ten years teaching experience.

Eligibility: K–college-level teachers
Award: Formal citation, three nights’ hotel accommodation, and $500 toward expenses to attend the NSTA National Conference

Robert H. Carleton Award

This is the most prestigious award an NSTA member can receive. The Robert H. Carleton Award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to, and provided leadership in, science education at the national level and to NSTA in particular. It is NSTA's highest honor. This award is sponsored by the Dow Chemical Company.

Eligibility: NSTA members who are K–college-level science educators
Award: $5,000, a formal citation, and an all-expenses-paid trip to NSTA's National Conference

More information HERE.

Posted on June 13, 2016 and filed under Fall.

Society for College Science Teachers Outstanding Undergraduate Science Teacher Award (OUSTA)

The pur­pose of the Out­stand­ing Under­grad­u­ate Sci­ence Teacher Award (OUSTA) is to rec­og­nize the achieve­ments of our teach­ing col­leagues that have enhanced the pro­fes­sion as out­stand­ing teach­ers of sci­ence. This annual award is based upon a selec­tion process that eval­u­ates nom­i­nees accord­ing to the fol­low­ing ranked cat­e­gories: 1) teach­ing excel­lence; 2) schol­ar­ship; and 3) service.

Nom­i­nees need not be a mem­ber of SCST, but should have been actively involved in teach­ing under­grad­u­ate sci­ence for the pre­vi­ous five (5) years. Nom­i­na­tions may be made by col­leagues or stu­dents; self-nominations are also encouraged.

The cri­te­ria for each cat­e­gory shall include, but not be lim­ited to the following:

§  Teach­ing excel­lence as evi­dence through teach­ing phi­los­o­phy and effec­tive­ness, teach­ing inno­va­tions, and course and cur­ric­ula development.

§  Schol­ar­ship as evi­denced through pub­li­ca­tions in sci­ence edu­ca­tion, pre­sen­ta­tions, grants received, and other forms of schol­ar­ship includ­ing discipline-based research.

§  Ser­vice to sci­ence edu­ca­tion, stu­dents, the pro­fes­sion, sci­en­tific and edu­ca­tional orga­ni­za­tions, the nominee’s insti­tu­tion, local teach­ers and their school sys­tems, and the gen­eral pub­lic with the over­all goal of enhanc­ing under­stand­ing of sci­en­tific issues.

More information HERE.

Posted on June 13, 2016 and filed under Spring.

National Science Teachers Association Distinguished Teaching Award

The National Science Teachers Association annually awards one or more Distinguished Teaching Awards in the field of K–16 science education. The awards are designed to recognize current NSTA members who are classroom teachers at the elementary, middle school, high school, and undergraduate levels and who have made extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching. The number of awards given each year is at the Awards and Recognitions Committee’s discretion.

Award: Each award consists of three nights’ hotel accommodations and expenses (up to $500) to attend the NSTA National Conference on Science Education. Awardees will be honored at the Awards Banquet during the NSTA conference.

Eligibility: This award is open to current NSTA members only, who have at least ten years of teaching experience.

Criteria for Judging: Excellence in teaching that reflects the National Science Education Standards is the main criterion for selection of recipients. Among the criteria to be considered by the committee are effective planning skills; lesson presentation skills; ability to motivate and challenge students; professional contribution in science and science education (e.g., publications, presentations); and participation in professional growth activities, leadership roles, and involvement at professional meetings.

More Information HERE.


Posted on June 13, 2016 and filed under Fall.