National Science Teachers Association Awards

The annual NSTA Awards and Recognition Program recognizes exceptional and innovative science educators created in 1973. The NSTA Awards and Recognition were created to raise awareness and exposure of the outstanding work being done in the science education field.

Vernier Technology Awards

The Vernier Technology Awards will recognize and reward the innovative use of data collection technology using a computer, graphing calculator, or other handheld in the science classroom. A total of seven awards are presented: one award at the elementary level (grades K–5); two awards at the middle level (grades 6–8); three awards at the high school level (grades 9–12); one award at the college level.

Eligibility: K–college. Applicants may not have won previously at their school.
Award: Each award will consist of $1,500 towards expenses to attend the NSTA National Conference, $1,000 in cash for the teacher, and $3,000 in Vernier products.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

This award honors NSTA members who are teachers that have made extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching. Must have at least ten years teaching experience.

Eligibility: K–college-level teachers
Award: Formal citation, three nights’ hotel accommodation, and $500 toward expenses to attend the NSTA National Conference

Robert H. Carleton Award

This is the most prestigious award an NSTA member can receive. The Robert H. Carleton Award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to, and provided leadership in, science education at the national level and to NSTA in particular. It is NSTA's highest honor. This award is sponsored by the Dow Chemical Company.

Eligibility: NSTA members who are K–college-level science educators
Award: $5,000, a formal citation, and an all-expenses-paid trip to NSTA's National Conference

More information HERE.

Posted on June 13, 2016 and filed under Fall.